California Transit Association

Member Profiles

San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District

Operating Revenue


Operating Expenditure


Capital Revenue


Capital Expenditure


Fleet Inventory

669 train cars


Year Founded


Context for Year Founded

in 1957, the California State Legislature formed the San Francisco Bay Area Rapid Transit District, comprising the five counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco and San Mateo. At this time, the District was granted a taxing power of five cents per $100 of assessed valuation. It also had authority to levy property taxes to support a general obligation bond issue, if approved by District voters. The State Legislature lowered the requirement for voter approval from 66 percent to 60 percent.

Governing or Corporate Structure

BART is governed by nine Board of Directors, directly elected by the people of the three voting counties, Alameda, Contra Costa and San Francisco. There are five board-appointed officers who run the agency. They are the General Manager, Controller- Treasurer, Independent Police Auditor, General Counsel and District Secretary.

Significant Historical Milestones

The public can get a quick glimpse of our timeline by visiting:

Notable Achievements

See our timeline:

Public Transit and Commuter Rail Agencies

Number of Employees


Annual Ridership


Number of Bus Routes Provided


Number of Rail Lines Served


Major Planned Investments

1.) BART will be opening the first segment of the BART to Silicon Valley extension in late 2015. The 5.4 mile "Warm Springs" extension is in Alameda County. The tracks will extend from BART's Fremont Station to the Warm Springs District of the City of Fremont. 2.) BART is also replacing and expanding its fleet of 669 train cars with at least 775 cars made by Bombardier. The first 10 test cars will arrive in late 2015. BART has plans to increase the fleet to 1,000 plus cars when funding is available. 3.) BART will open a 10 mile extension from its Pittsburg/Bay Point Station to the city of Brentwood in Contra Costa County. This extension is called eBART. The "E" stands for Eastern Contra Costa County.

Learn about past and current champions of transit in our Gallery of Leaders.

Explore significant transit milestones of the last 50 years and beyond.

Read a compendium of California's public transit history in book form.