California Transit Association

Member Profiles

Humboldt Transit Authority

Operating Revenue


Operating Expenditure


Capital Revenue


Capital Expenditure


Fleet Inventory

25 fixed route buses, 5 intercity buses


Year Founded


Governing or Corporate Structure

Humboldt Transit Authority is a Joint Powers that is governed by County Supervisors Mark Lovelace and Rex Bohn and City Councilpersons Julie Fulkerson, Michael Winkler, Natalie Arroyo, Tami Trent, and Tim Marks.

Significant Historical Milestones

The Humboldt Transit Authority (HTA) was established in 1975 under a joint-powers agreement between the cities of Arcata, Eureka, Fortuna, Rio Dell and Trinidad and the County of Humboldt.

HTA is headquartered in the county seat of Eureka. HTA is governed by a seven member Board of Directors comprised of one representative each from the five incorporated cities and two representatives from the County of Humboldt. The Authority is administered by the General Manager and is supported by staff including the Operations Manager, Equipment and Facilities Manager, Administration and Finance Manager, Administrative Assistant, and Receptionist/ADA Specialist.

Public Transit and Commuter Rail Agencies

Number of Employees


Annual Ridership


Number of Bus Routes Provided